St. Barbara's Church
The most famous sight of picturesque Brennbergbánya is St. Barbara's Church (Szent Borbála templom), known to everyone in Hungary as the Pub Church.
St. Barbara’s Church gained its current shape in 1930, when the building that had stood here was reconstructed according to the plans of Sopron architect Oszkár Füredi. This building was built in 1872 and was established besides the since demolished mining directorate (which will play an important role in the creation of the pub church) between 1872 and 1890. Initially it was home to a warehouse and shop, and later a school was established upstairs. During the reconstruction in 1930, the former octagonal tower was demolished and extended with a sacristy and a new tower. The church was given a new roof structure with a higher rake angle, which made it possible to create the current wooden arched church interior, which resembles a mine cut.
The pub was established in the former storeroom of the basement in the early 1960s, when “Bányász Presszó” (Miners’ Café) relocated from the demolished building of the local mining administration to the church.
Adjacent to the church, in Szent Borbála square, there is a mining-themed playground, which has been welcoming visitors with children since 2019, where children can learn about Brennberg’s mining history with the games and toys designed by the students of Károly Simonyi Faculty of Technology, Wood Material Science and Arts of Sopron University.
For interesting facts on the history of Brennbergbánya, please visit https://elfeledettaranyvonat.hu/.